Taiga Plains

The Taiga Plains are in the far northeast corner of the province. The ecoprovince covers the territory of the Dene-thahKaska, and Dena First Nations.

The Taiga Plains are mostly flatlands with rivers, streams and a boggy, mossy wetland called muskeg. The winters are long and very cold, similar to Arctic winters, and the summers are usually mildly warm and dry.

Where the wetlands end, forests of stunted black and white spruce trees cover the landscape. The animals and plants found here are adapted to deal with cold weather and food shortages in the long winters.

The major city is Fort Nelson.

Explore plants and animals of the Taiga Plains

Explore other Ecoprovinces in B.C.