Sub-Boreal Interior

The Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovince is a high elevation area, with plateaus and flatlands surrounded by mountains. The area is in a dry rainshadow, and the summers are dry and short while the winters are cold and long.

The ecoprovince is made up of the territory of the Dunne-za, Tahltan, Kaska, Dena, Sekani, Nat’ooten, Gitxsan, and Nisga’a First Nations.

The area is known for its wetlands, lakes and streams. There are large alpine tundras in the mountain areas, and the rest of the landscape has dense forests of spruce, fir and other coniferous and deciduous trees.

The major cities are Prince George and Mackenzie.

Explore other Ecoprovinces in B.C.